Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the recent political trend, it has been seen some political decisions are not compatible with the overall population's opinions. The above prompt address this issue and suggest that imperative political decision should be taken by politicians and other government experts. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons which I will elucidate below, but I do concede that in select a few cases government should consider the general population’s opinions.

To begin, in most cases, government officials are suitable to make major policy decisions for the overall good because more connoisseur officials can assimilate the overall effect of the proposed policy and its long-term effects. For example, people say that the government should not invest money in nuclear power plants, given the disastrous repercussions of power plants like Chernobyl, in 1986 but most of them are oblivious to the efficacy of nuclear energy as a sustainable energy source for the future. Furthermore, a significant portion of society argues against government funding of scientific research since there are very few instances of scientific break but after looking at the long-term effect of scientific research it is apparent that it is not fruitless. If government officials abide by the opinion of most of the people, societal progress will stagnate. Public officials are by no means dilettante since they are selected by people through elections and major policy decisions are taken by the collaborative effort of many adept officials who have the foresight of the efficacy of the policy on overall society in the long run. Thus, government experts are apt to make imperative political decisions.

Furthermore, in many instances, indispensable policy should be made by experts since people often fail to comprehend the salutary effect of a proposed policy due to social stigma. For example, when Raja Rammohan Roy tried to demolish the “sati Pratha” in the 18th century most of the people opposed his decision as that time it was sanctimonious similarly when Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar tried to introduce “The Widow Marriage Act” in 1856 most of the people opposed it. If he abides by the social stigma the women's suffering will not mitigate in our society. In many cases, people are unable to comprehend the effectiveness of a policy due to their parochial understanding of society, whereas, government experts and public officials are more open-minded and understand the significant dilemmas of a society thus they should take salient political decisions rather than public.

On the other hand, in a few cases, policy decisions should rely on peoples’ opinions since they are more suitable for making decisions as they are more experienced about the dilemmas in everyday life as public officials rarely face those problems. For example, students, especially in the US are suffering from a significant amount of student debt after their graduation for a long time, in that case, people should decide for less, even free education policies. For instance, most of the roads in the cities of India are in pretty poor condition because of that lots of people are suffering and the government are not cognizant of that, and instead of improving the roads they are funding money for making waterparks. The above examples illustrate that sometimes government officials are not suitable to make policies regarding day-to-day quandaries as they do not have enough experience in that or they do not encounter those problems regularly. Thus in those cases, people are suitable to make linchpin policy decisions.

To conclude, I argue that leaders should make policy decisions based on their experience for the two reasons outlined above. But I do admit that complete reliance on government experts will can result in disastrous consequences for a society.