The following appeared in a letter to the city council of Canbury from the president of Plexma Motors.

"I am pleased that the council is considering Plexma's plans to open a new manufacturing site in Canbury next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by local media, 60 percent of Canbury's residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma self-driving vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles' safety. We are happy to report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of Canbury's residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury's economy as a whole, I recommend that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in Canbury."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above letter, the author argues that people should vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing their self-driving vehicles in Canbury since using a self-driving car not only provide safety but also offer more new jobs thus significant economic growth. The author supports his claim based on the survey report of Canbury residents that they will purchase self-driving cars if they are safe enough to drive. Furthermore, the author fortifies his claim about the safety of self-driving cars by stating that during their two months trial their 5 cars never met an accident. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that the new self-driving cars will be safe for the Canbury people since during their test in downtown Canbury their 5 vehicles were accident-free without any justifiable evidence regarding the two regions. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the comparison between downtown Canbury and Canbury. Are those two regions similar? In other words, is it possible to use a circumstance from one thing to predict and generalise another? Maybe these two regions are not similar at all. Maybe Canbury is situated in the city where roads are more crowded whereas downtown is a more rural area where traffic is not very dense. There is a possibility that downtown roads are more developed than in Canbury. If any one of the above situations is true then the author’s argument holds no water. The author does not provide any information regarding these two areas. If the author can provide more admissible evidence perhaps in a form of a systematic research study about both of these regions then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author props his claim that self-driving vehicles are pretty safe since during the 2 months trial 5 tested vehicles never met an accident without providing any evidence. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the testing. Is the sample size sufficient? Maybe only testing 5 vehicles is not sufficient to conclude the safety of a vehicle. Furthermore, is only testing 2 months enough? Maybe only 2 months of testing is not enough to conclude everything about safety. Furthermore, maybe most of the people in the survey do not have sufficient knowledge about a car’s safety standards. Then using their opinions to determine the car’s safety is seriously unwarranted. The author does not provide adequate data to support his claim about the safety of a self-driving car. The author has to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a survey of safety experts and include more vehicles for testing then it will strengthen his argument, otherwise, the author's argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author states that steady demand for self-driving cars will create new jobs thus, Canbury’s economy will boost after manufacturing self-driving cars without any evidence. Is manufacturing self-driving cars needed by people? Maybe those cars need machines which are operated by computer simulations to meet their sophisticated phenomena. Even if this is not the case, Plexma may want to hire experienced people from their other cities instead of the people from Canbury in their factories. In that case, the author’s argument about creating a new job is seriously unwarranted. The author does not provide any legitimate evidence regarding the hiring of people from Canbury. The author has to provide more evidence perhaps in a form of a research study about Plexma’s hiring policies to rectify his claim.

In conclusion, the author’s statement is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author answers the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s recommendation that beginning manufacturing self-driving cars will be lucrative for Canbury in the long run.