The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends to keep the tradition of all female students policy, because it could improve morale among students and guarantee final advantages from alumnae. To support his/her claims, the author disprove the approval of coeducation from majority of teaching faculty and cites/quotes students and alumnae's survey results. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her lines of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion would end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the fact that coeducation is actually absurd for Grove College to increase students' application, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that such proposal could actually increase college's recruitment and improve financial status, because times have been changed and coeducation become a common requirement from students to facilitate communication between male and female. Without additional information to evaluate such probability, it is possible that adaption to teaching faculty's suggestion could actually help further reach president's original goal. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge president's refusal for coeduation and render his/her claim much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that coeducation actually breach the common requirement from students could strengthen his/her viewpoint.

Granted that coeducation isn't common from students and given the fact that result of students and alumnae's survey support traditional policy, whether to stick to all-female stragegy needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that result of students' survey is trustable. The probability that limited responders and incorrect data collecting method disturb the rightness of the student's survey must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that responders represents the typical potential students group of college and data collection process is mainly reasonable, his/her reasoning will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that alumnae's overall attitude is to oppose such coeducation. While the author shows that half of alumnae are strongly against coeduation, the probability that they are myopic and just not accustomed to change of tradition without any wise reason behind could not be excluded in advance. For example, as they had graduated from all-female university, they are blind to believe that such policy keep right and even don't consider the wholesome result brought about by the change. Thus, we have no clues whether it is just reasonable to follow their ideas. If no, to sticking to all-females strategy is unlikely to take better effect than changes. Otherwise, adherence to original policy could be expected worthwhile.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for all mentioned positions are reasonable, it remains to be seen whether such old tradition could guarantee school's goal for improving morale and financial supports. Other factors, such as additional resource requirements from financial perspective and new student's morality level, could seriously impact both improved morale level and financial supports. If both of these can't be guaranteed, this is doubtful that sticking to such policy could guarantee to fit for the goal.

In summary, while several cases support the continuation of the all-female tradition, this is a conclusion that we cannot derive from the information available in the passage. Furthermore, even if coeducations' imfeasibility and strong supports from students, alumnae and consideration out of finanical and morale, being loyal to the old tradition is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.