People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Will people's behaviors be largely determined by external forces or via their own making? While someone might stick to the viewpoint that people have their own will for deciding their own behaviors, I have to concede that our behavior is actually heavily impacted by external forces. The external forces not only shape our idea and value, such as morality, inveterate life habits, in a long run, but also seriously restrict with our own behavior execution. That is to say, instead of free from external environment, we actually live in their impressive influence.

To start off, it is undoubted that people have their own volition to do as wish under circumstance, which conforms to the social norm. Because as intelligent human being, we have our own idea for every happenings or events around our world. Instead of blindly following up with the trend, it is from the courage of being independent that people could deviate from the so-called best practise in the world. Take Galileo's innovative experiment in leaning tower of Pisa as an example. As a smart scientist, Galileo definitely understand how difficult to challenge the hidebound idea that exists for years in scientific world. But out of devotion to scientific research and courage to shed light on the truth, he still strides out to throw out iron balls from the tower, which is the greatness of human-being scientific spirits.

Furthermore, considering how our free will and life habit forms, we can not ignore a great influence from external environment, which naturally constitutes our life track from the young to the death. While individuals display different composition and temperatures, such characteristics are impacted gradually from outside world since our born. Moreover, the external world that we have get touch with enbows us with unique habits, but all of these are actually coupled with our life milieu, such as school, family and friends around. Thus, our idea and value are actually orignated from them and incorrigibly represented from our unique hobbies and behavior characteristics. As shown before, during Galileo's study track, his father as a musician theorist gives him huge impact, which lead to his meticulous thinking habits. After entering campus, the surroundings also create a favorable situation for simulating his scientific ideas. Therefore, he could finally generate various great innovations and gallant enough to rebell against biases in the scientific field.

Last but not least, the external restriction also bridles with the way how we act. Furthermore, social normt as he most important external restriction in society, mainly decides what we can do and how we should prosecute. As the most powerful rule, social norms could give people both inherited experience for accelerating learning, but also impede us when breaching with the existing social laws. Thus, despite various innovations in the world, people could seldom forget such bridle totally, even for the breakthrough in the research. That is also the reason why Galileo decided to carry out such experiment in public. Because he deeply understand this scientific norm: if people could not see by themselves or repeat such result on their own, whatever amazing conclusion given out will become invalid any more. Thus, he chose to shrink back and conformed to such law for presenting the whole process in public, for the sake of eliminating potential throwbacks.

In summary, while people's volition could guide ourselves to do adjustment in the range that external force allows, various external factors, such as social convention, family, campus actually exert great influence on our activities in either long term or short time scale. Moreover, going to the details of how we can efficiently undertake our behaviors, such immense prowess could inevitably restrict with how we can do follow-ups. That is to say, instead of simply following our heart,as an element in a society, we always have to consider where we are and what we are allowed.