The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author maintains that Grove College should not admit male students as it will improve morale among the female students, as well as convince alumnae to continue donating to the institution. To support this recommendation, the author reasons that two separate surveys were done, both which resulted in the majority voting to keep the school all-female. Stated in this way, there is a lack of details regarding the survey, creating a discrepancy in the author’s claims. Under careful scrutiny, the evidence reveals that there is no support for the conclusion that morale or financial support will improve. Therefore, the author’s argument can be considered lacking and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author assumes that morale will improve through the female student body because 80 percent of the students were in favor of not admitting any males into their school. This is merely a baseless assumption made without any solid ground. For example, the female students want to stick with the school’s tradition of only having females, but no where does it specify how sticking to this tradition will improve morale. Hence, if the argument would have been considerably strengthened if had explicitly stated the 80 percent of students who voted no on coeducation had specifically written on the survey why they felt the school should continue to be all female.

Moreover, the argument also assumes that students who have already graduated will continue supporting the college because over half of the alumnae opposed coeducation on another survey. This again is a weak claim as it is unsuccessful in establishing a clear parallel between opposing coeducation and the continued donations from the graduated students. To illustrate, the evidence did not reveal if the survey included questions surrounding donations or if they would continue if coeducation was enacted. As a result, if it was stated that the survey revealed that alumnae would only continue donating if the school remained all-female, then it would have been more convincing to the reader.

Third, the author does bring up the fact that a major of faculty members are in favor of coeducation as it would lead to more students attending. If more students attended would Grove College be financially stable and not have to depend on charitable donations from alumane? Are there any other beneficial reasons that faculty members may be in support of coeducation, like having a more diverse population in the student body which might expand the female student’s perspectives and knowledge? Without convincing answers to these questions, the author’s present conclusion seems more wishful thinking rather than a substantive recommendation.

In conclusion, the author’s weak argument stemming from the aforementioned details are therefore questionable. To considerably strengthened the claims, specific details pertaining to the survey must be mentioned like comments made by the female students themselves or questions about financial support from the alumnae. Ultimately, to better evaluate the argument, there a bigger picture has to be provided so that other possible factors and opnions dealing with coeducation can be examined. Consequently, without this information, the author’s recommendation of keeping the college all-female remains equivocal and open to debate.