Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The topic poses a controversial issue of whether countries should preserve wilderness area through the passage of laws that would prevent companies from developing on these lands. Presumably, development of such areas would allow economic growth and expansion, bringing jobs and housing to overcrowded cities. Nonetheless, the wild is rapidly shrinking along with the many species of animals whose survival depend on these undeveloped lands. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that remaining wilderness areas should be developed for profit and am inclined to argue that nature and its resources should be protected for years to come

First of all, humans depend on the oxygen that plants and trees produce in order to survive. I would like to point out that the majority of these oxygen producing sources thrive in areas untouched by humans. In addition to producing oxygen, plants and trees use carbon dioxide for their own internal processes, lowering the carbon dioxide from our atmosphere. To elucidate, let us look at an example of how a plant undergoes photosynthesis. For photosynthesis to occur, a plant needs energy from the sun,carbon dioxide, and water. Carbon dioxide is emitted heavily by humans which can then cleaned up from the earth’s atmosphere. Therefore, it is quite evident that we need to have large areas of trees and plants to help clean our toxic air.

Furthermore, developing on lands where animals call their home is quickly reducing the diversity of animals left on our planet. An occurring instance that comes to mind is the destruction of the orangutan’s habitat in Indonesia. Millions of acres of wilderness is being burned down for economic gain by the palm oil companies. Orangutans are starving to death because they are running out of available land to live on. Both common sense and history tells us that, if nothing is done by the nation’s government, the orangutan will be another species to add to the list of animals driven to extinction.

Certainly, the human population is continuously growing and will need more land and space to survive on. This is especially true in China where at one point the population was growing at such a fast pace that the government had to restrict how many children a family could have. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to the claim that using the undeveloped lands will solve overpopulation.

In conclusion, though developing land may be useful in creating new space for people to live and lead to economic growth in that area, it doesn’t solve the long-term issue of overpopulation or the destruction of mother nature. As long as population numbers are monitored and resources are reinvested into the already existing economy, then preserving the undeveloped environment should be a top priority.