The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends shortening each of three work shifts in Alta Manufacturing, because it could expect to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents. To support his/her claim, the author cites with comparison with Panoply Industries and comments from experts about cause of factory accidents. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her claim that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether both of two factories have the same working environments, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that Alta Manufacturing has much complex working environment, which lead to higher accidents compared with those of Panoply Industries. Without additional information to evaluate such working environment related with two companies, it is of equal probability that Panoply Industries' low accidental rate spring from its related simple working circumstance. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge that length of work shift is the critical option for accidents and render his/her claim much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that both of factories have similar working necessity could strengthen his/her viewpoint.

Granted that the similiarity of two factories' working environment and given the fact that shift difference and experts' suggestion, whether less shift could contribute to amelioration of accident number needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that experts' idea is accurate in regards to cause of accidents in Alta. The probability that the mounting accidents is not caused by fatigue of worker, rather than other misconduct in working process in Alta's case must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that fatigue is ubiquitous among workes in Alta and greatly induce accidents among employees, his/her viewpoint will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that such fatigue could be improved by shorter work shift. While we might feel intuitively right that shorter shift could let workers have more time for rest, the probability that they use such time not for further recovery could not be excluded in advance. For example, they might drink beer together after work, when having such additional time. Thus, we have no clues whether fatigue status of workers could be improved, once shorter work shift is applied. If no, it is unlikely to argue that fatigue status could be improved, which could lead to decline of accidents on the job. Otherwise, a better healthy status in Alta could be expected from such change, creating favorable situation for less accidents.

In summary, while both of two factories might have equivalent working environments, this is a conclusion that we cannot derive from the information available in the argument. Furthermore, even if they possess tantamount working circumstances, whether shorter work shift could improve accidental rate of Alta is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.