The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument given, the author recommends shortening of the working hours so as to reduced the number of on-the-job accidents. Alta Manufacturing recorded 30% more accidents than the competing Industry in the same manufacturing zone. This argument is made on various assumptions and few intimidating questions needs to be answered by the vice president of Alta Manufacturing to conclude on the validity of his recommendation. Without any valid evidence, we are not in a position to come to a conclusion.

Firstly, the Vice President claims that the nearby Panoply Industries has a shorter work shift hours and thus on-the-job accidents are quite low compared to Alta. This claim is highly contentious and without answering the Question “Is accident rate in Panoply Industries affected only and only due to the shorter hours of the work shift or are there any other influencing factors?” no conclusion can be made. There might be various other reasons for the lower rate of accidents, like safer work conditions, more awareness given to workers, Better facilities, etc. If any of these seem to be better than Alta, then it is quite evident that the only reason for lesser accidents is not shorter work hours or it might be possible that shorter working hours is not even one of the reason.

Further, the author claims that the significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused due to sleep deprivation. This cannot be concluded as a valid claim unless the question “Is the fatigue cased only due to the sleep deprivation or are there any other factors?”’ is answered. On evaluating such inputs, we can further jot information about the work culture in Alta manufacturing. In a general parlance, assumption could also be made that the fatigue is being caused due to strenuous work conditions, or the burdened work due to improper division among the labour, etc. If the answer to the above question is positive, then such assumption shall bolster the recommendation strongly.

Finally, the Author recommend shortening of work hours in each shift while assuming that this will help employees get adequate sleep. This assumption can be said to be made out of pure recondite if the Question “ Are you sure that the employees will sleep and not perform other errand during such period” is not answered. There is high possibility that the workers may opt to utilise this one hour to do other duties and not sleep. If this assumption is not backed by any evidence, then the recommendation made may not be valid and thus not effective.

Therefore, it is very important to answer these few questions before implementing such recommendation. Implementation without any evidence shall only reduce the revenue to the company but may not complement for better working conditions.

A through evaluation is required before taking any steps.