We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is a powerful gift that we on the planet are bestowed with. Be it plants, animals or humans, we learn to adapt to the circumstances and situations around us to mould and grow, like how a creeper learns its surroundings and grows in the most feasible way. It is important to highlight that without this attribute of learning, we as humanity could never develop from being apes to who we are today. However, the question on the table is whether we learn more from those we share same views with or from those we having contradicting views. I disagree with the claim that we learn more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict out own as it is always possible to learn something new from those having a contradicting view as they can always offer something that we were not known about.

To begin with, People with contradicting views, always have something new to give. something we were not aware of before. that way we learn more and better. For instance, consider a debate competition, where we are for the topic “Cars are better than Bikes for long distance travelling”. Here, people sharing the same view shall be bestow us with the knowledge that we may already know, like Cars are comfortable compared to bikes, or Cars can accommodate more people or other points like that, but in case of people having contradicting views may give us more pointer we did not think of previously, like Bikes are thrilling and more cheaper or In case of Bikes are more faster. So I firmly believe that those with contradicting views shall provide us with more learning.

Further, having a contradictory view means there is something you are missing out on. For instance, you know that this is the best laptop you could get, but there is Mr. Y with a varying view that it might not be the best laptop. This technically means that you are not completely aware of the all the available laptops in the market. on further investigation, you find out that there are many other laptops that are better that the one you thought was the best.

However, there might me situations, where we learn a lot from the people who we share the same views with. For example, consider that I follow Hindu tradition and in this case I am completely rigid and am not open to consider any views of other traditions. In this scenario, it could be right to say that we learn more from people who follow hinduism and deny to consider any other views. Although this might be true in some cases, it would be wise to understand the views of the opposing parties and take into accounts their view points.

On a conclusive note, it would be wise to disagree with the claim considering the various way that can be explored if we try to learn from those having contradicting views. It might not always hold true but I believe it shall hold true most of the times.