We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We live in a complex world and different people have different experiences and understanding of life, which shape their opinions differently. Due to this difference in the opinions, we often find situations where people have conflicting opinions which spur debates between the different schools of thoughts. For the given prompt, I do not fully agree to the thought that we learn more from people whose views we share rather than from the people whose views we contradict mainly. I would elaborate with a reason to support and another to contadict the opinion.

To begin with, similar minded people can have very fruitful discussions and developments, which can really help the individuals as well as the community grow. For instance, for a student interested in science and fascinated by nuclear physics, discussions and talks with people of similar interests and views will be very fruitful and insightful. On the contrary, discussions with people who do not share a similar interest or does not understand what he says might not help the person, as they cannot have any discussions or interactions on the said field. Research has shown that brainstorming ideas with people of matching tastes has significantly boosted one's productivity while working in their chosen field. The effect of like-minded peer group cannot be understated, as it helps one push his/her limits and also learn immensely.

On the other hand, we may argue that interacting and debating with people of different thought process might help as well. For instance, the debates and discussions between two people supporting different political fronts provides them with an opportunity to learn about the opinions and plans of actions of the opposition front. When similar arguments and debates occur between opposite political parties, they have often catalysed very insightful and remarkable actions which have moved countries in a forward direction. Many a times, looking at a problem from another perspective causes new ideas and reforms to come to light, which may be more effective than what a single school of thought might have come up with. When different schools of thoughts come together, they often lead to very insightful and revolutionary ideas which propell our society forward.

The given prompt is a complex one has both points of support and argument, and it cannot be easily concluded whether people learn more from people with similar or contrasting views. However, it can definitely be said that both interactions immensely benefit the people and bring out creative and innovative discussions to the fore front.