The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director fo the Super Screen Movie Production company suggests to allocate greater amount of budget in the coming years on advertising of the movies as he believes that the lower attendence to the movies despite the increasing reviews for the film and considering the good quality of the films produces is due to the lack of awareness among the people. While the recommendation made looks sound, the arguments made by the author are rife with assumptions and flaws and few questions like, 'How many reviewers have actually given reviews about the film?', 'Are the reviews given by different people or are a few reviewers publishing mutiple reviews under differnt names' or 'Are there any other films playing around the same time as the Super Screen Movies that are influencing the people's preferences?'

Firstly, the authour makes an assumption that the percentage of positive reviewes by the movie reviweres has increased during the past year. To validate this assumption,

'Did the number of reviewres who reviewed the movie incresed?' needs to be ansered

There is no evidence on the number of reviews actually received and the total reviewers may actually be smaller than previous years. For instance, if the number of movie watcher were 1000 and 20 people gave the review that is 2% of the watchers it the previous years, whereas in the last year the number of movie watchers were only 300 and 15 people gave the review that is about 5% of the people. While the percentage of the people who review the movie incresed the number remains low compared to previous years. Thus the question on the actual number of reviews needs to be asnwered.

Second, the asusmption that the positive reviews were received by different individuals is flawed without evidence. The Question as to 'The reviews given are by different persons and not by one person giving multiple reviews' is to be answered. It is a possibility that a single person who is from the back end of movie production may have publish different reviews to attract the customer to watch the film. The reviewes published thus do not commesurate with the number of viewers. The fault maybe in the quality of the movies and attribution of such fault to review and public attendence may be wrong.

Lastly, he also assumes that the people are not attending the movie due to lack of awareness about the availabilty of the good movies arounf the. To validate this assumption, 'Are the people interested in the storyline and yet are not attending is required to be answered'. While it may be look wise to make this asusmption, it is also possible that the people are not willing ot attend he movie due to their dislike of the storyline, or varied interest of the genre. It is also possible that the people are more interested in other films that are being casted at the same time as Super Screen Movies, whose quality may seem to be more furnished.

This, the author before making such conclusion, may think of varied reasons as to the lower public attendance like the actual number of reviewres for the movie, the conformity of no double publishing of reviews by single person and that other films being casted at the same period are not affecting the viewers. Without answering the questions above, we are not in a position to conclude anything.