The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per mentioned in the memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing, considering two Manufacturing Industries and their data of on-the-job accidents taken place has been mentioned that Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply Industries have had an hour shorter work shifts in comparison to Alta Manufacturing. There are various factors which make this claim irrelevant and various missing factors that fails to justify this claim regarding the decrement in the working hours and shortening it.

Firstly, considering the first mentioned line about the past year, Alta Manufacturing has thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply industries. There is no ratio or number mentioned that how many employees work in Alta Manufacturing and Panoply Industries considering the size of both of them. Hence it might also be possible that the number of employees and size of Alta Manufacturing would be far more than the number of employees and size of Panoply Industries. So it fails to argue in the first sentence only as whenever we do a comparison ratio should be in the same number and should not be over inclined towards a side.

Secondly, as per the Expert's statement mentioned in the memo, it has been said that a significant contributing factor in many accidents has been fatigue which might be caused by sleep deprivation among workers. It cannot be justified that the employees may be experiencing fewer hours of sleep hours due to their greater work shift hours. There has been no mention of the number of hours employees work. The sleep deprivation should be also because the employees might be passing their other tie in talking on phones, doing other work or any other so for reasons. The sleep deprivation just through the number of hours in the work shift cannot be considered as a justifying factor.

As in the memo it has been mentioned about the recommendation on the shortening of three work shifts by one hour, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents fails to argue by many unproven factors. There is no given hypothesis that these accidents were caused just because of these more work shift hours. It has not been proved that implementing this lowered in these number of work hours would result in the decrement or prevention of on-the-job accidents. Hence only one side of the problem is only mentioned in the memo and other viewpoints and affecting factors have not been considered.

Finally, all these mentioned arguments fail to justify for the shortening of three work shifts by one hour for the reduction of on-the-job accidents. The claims mentioned in the memo by the Vice President of Alta Manufacturing undermine all of the arguments as they are just considered seeing a single viewpoint. While considering to pass all these changes a proper scenario shall be seen and the effect on the company by taking these decisions should also be kept in mind.