Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgement.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the modern society, responsibility of the government officials is always in the central of political discussion. Someone believes that political leaders should carry out the will of the people they serve, while other argues that leaders should decide relying on their own judgement. From my perspective of view, I agree with the later considering the comprehensive knowledge and resources possessed by the leaders, while I object to the former as it would bring about several detrimental results.

To start off, I have to concede that when leaders fulfill with the will of the people, they can win more reputation and facilitate their achievement of long term ambition. Because the major liability of political leaders is to construct a better world for the public by achieving their personal dreams. It is reasonable for leaders to fully contemplate with people's wish and add those into their political goals. Through making the people's wishes under to the earth, people could appreciate them from the deep heart and in turn wholeheartedly support their further policy. Such wholesome feedback cycle could facilitate political leaders to acquire more supports and reach their targets in a more smooth way.

However, when we carefully consider the characteristics of wills from the public, whether merely to follow people's wish can promote government officials' efficiency become more complex and needs thorough deliberation. As diversity of people in arbitrary countries, they often raises up distinct ideas and normally those ideas are incompatible with each other. Therefore, this cast a great challenge for leaders how to fulfill them in a logically way. On one hand, it is impossible to make all of them satisfactory as there might exists irreconcilable conflicts between their wishes. Furthermore, as complexity of political tasks normally have, leaders should have a comprehensive and logical schedule for their political plan. But to blindly follow with people's will could definitely disturb such well-ordered plan, as people's ideas and wishes are likely to emerge at any time and change simultaneously. Such instability bring about great challenges for leaders to make better overall plan. In short, the characteristic of people's wills decide that efficient leaders couldn't just follow them and schedule political plan in an systematic way.

Last but not least, as political leaders's personal quality and resources they possess, we have sufficient reasons to trust them and encourage them to depend on their volition, if their ambitions are actually the right track. On one hand, leaders are normally elites who receive better knowledges among the society. Such qualities could guarantee them to have better insight when considering challenges. Take diverse people's requirements as example, it is relatively easier than a polymath political leader to figure out how to balance between different interests and still guarantee the final goal is well on the track. But such challenge would seem a Herculean task for the normal people. Furthermore, with the pre-requisitives that politicians possess the right morality and good will for serving to people, when they consider their own political decision, it is also sensible and reasonable to trust them for putting people's will into the highest priority and vouchsafe their actual achievement. Therefore, in case that their political ambition or plan could be taken into practice, the major consideration involving with the people's personal wills, is capable of reaching the solid ground. From this perspective, trusts for wise political leaders equates with guaranteeing people's will in practice.

In summary, it is beneficial for leaders to follow with people's wills, because those could help them establish a solid foundation for their further achievement. However, this doesn't mean that leaders who only fulfill the public could reach their political goals. Furthermore, as elites from our society and possession of right morality and sufficient knowledges, we should bestow them with sufficient freedom to act with their own decision.