Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and the environment in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which views more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In my opinion, the responsibilities of a corporation should not be restricted to the sole domain of minting as much money as possible but also to expand it affairs in matters concerning the well being of the society. It was with this aspect in mind that the governments in several countries have made the concept of corporate social responsibility (CSR) mandatory.

My stand to make it mandatory for companies to contribute to the society where they have established themselves comes from the fact that without the contributions from the society itself, the very foundations of the corporate world would be destabilised. After all, every company eventually has to deal with people and their needs. Every man in a corporate sector does business keeping in mind the requirements of other man- be it a business in retail sector, real estate or FMCG goods. What if, someday the consumers refuse to buy a product or avail the services that a company offers. It will result in a complete crash-down of the company's economy. Keeping this monetary aspect in mind, the company should make efforts in doing its social role.

Secondly, there is a humane aspect associated with it. What differentiates a man from the animals is that we have the mental capacity to think for others and to empathise with our society. If the sole purpose of our lives restricts to minting as much money as people and sidelining people, we would be no less than animals. With this aspect, it becomes important for companies to play their social part. Henceforth, companies should invest some amount of their financial resources as well their time in giving to the society. The nature of contributions that a company can make for the community can range from providing education for girl child (which is especially crucial in half of the third world nations, where females are denied their basic rights). Besides, the corporate sector can also focus on upliftment of the marginalised, the destitute, the trans-genders etc. Moreover, they can also play their part by making financial contributions for Special schools- places which host physically and intellectually disabled children.

Apart from the contributions of the corporate world to the society they live in, it is also relevant that they make efforts in environment conservation. After all, if we can make the world a better and a breathable place to live in, we have certainly done something worthwhile for our planet. Such efforts could entail carrying out tree plantation drives & cleaning up our immediate environment. In addition, mass movements comprising of entire company staff to collect waste paper or plastic for recycling shall in some way be of benefit for planet earth. This would reduce the over consumption load that arises from felling of trees & which eventually contributes to a host of other problems such as loss of soil fertility and landslides or the toxic load that originates from dumping of plastic in our environment, which results in choking of animals that accidentally consume it or affects the marine life in case plastic finds its way to the seas.

Keeping all these aspects in front, there is certainly a need for the corporations to exhibit responsibility for promoting well being of the society they live in and the environment where they operate. As it is said, as you sow, so shall you reap. What you do for the society, it will eventually come back to you in some form or the other.