Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Corporations do have a degree of responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. After all, they make their profits off of society, and are successful because people buy and support their products. Therefore, they are ethically bound to give back to society.

It may seem a little unfair to make profit-driven businesses feel compelled to spend labour, and a good portion of their profits, to solve social problems or improve people's lives. After all, that is the government's job! However, businesses often benefit from promoting good causes. The resulting positive publicity serves as good advertising for their products, and bring in profits. Thus, it is not too outlandish to suggest that corporate giants be asked to actively use their advertising resources and power for the betterment of society.

In some cases, corporations need to take action to offset any damage they have caused to society while performing their activities. It is often the case that even when commercial corporations stay within the line of law in their operations, they directly or indirectly affect the environment for generations to come. The oil and petroleum industry is one example. Although it may be legal to drill oil wells, or perform fracking in an oil-rich area, the stability of soil or land is affected. Intensively taking advantage of this may cause drastic problems such as landslides in the future. In this situation, considering an environment-friendly approach, although not legally required, would be the moral thing to do.

Similarly, construction companies that tear down large tracts of forest or farmlands in third world countries may have complete legal rights in carrying out their activities. Yet, in doing so, they may be destroying the livelihood of hundreds or thousands of locals, who depend on forests for sustenance. Though they may not legally bound to do so, it is only fair that the corporations, in this case, should take steps to relocate or provide locals with alternative jobs so that their lives will not be uprooted by commerical activities.

On the other hand, not all corporations are involved in activities that could impact society or the environment negatively. Some of them may just be smaller companies,trying to stay afloat, and make profits. It is not really fair to ask them to get involved with campaigns to improve the environment or be burdened with responsibilities of improving society. It is also dubious, if they could make any substantial positive impact on society, if forced to participate in social welfare campaigns.

In conclusion, corporations are capable of doing a lot to give back to society, and do have an ethical responsibility to promote social welfare activities. Moreover, businesses can only flourish in a society of healthy buyers. Thus, business have sufficient motive to engage in welfare activities.