Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is hard to underestimate the contribution of governments support for arts development since different arts require different financial needs. While the performing arts, like concerts, operas, theaters, cinema in most cases can support themselves, the rest of the arts like painting or sculpture might require some subsidies form the government or beneficiaries. Therefore, I contend with the necessity of governments finding to ensure flourishing of the arts, but, this funding must be unconditional, without interfering with the integrity of the arts.

Due to the volatile nature of national and global economics, arts are among the most affected areas. The government usually prioritizes its expenditures to support strategic areas and relieve the financial burden laid on the shoulders of the people. In these times the financial support to arts might be decrease significantly. Paradoxically, it is in the government's interests to seek additional resources in order to help arts to survive during hard times. Because arts help ameliorate the psychological pressure on people, alleviate they sorrows and provide them with hopes and inspirations for better future. For example, the Philharmony was operational during all the 800 days of blockade of St. Petersburg during the WWII, authorities did not cease to support the arts, even the city budget was devastated. Needless to say that such a move helped thousands of people to survive these sombre and dissolute days. Thus, the government funding of arts is essential, despite the hard times.

One can argue that the arts might survive without support form the government, bringing an example of the arts during the Great Depression, where the government funding was scant. Or the arts of native people in developing countries of African continent, where the economically challenged government hardly can afford to provide a significantly material support. It is true that arts can survive, but they hardly might flourish. To ensure the thriving of the arts, the help form government or private mecenats and benefactors is needed. Take for example a medieval Florence. Only due to the support of the ruling Medci family, we now have a chance to enjoy works of Michaelangelo or Raphaello and other Renaissance authors. Therefore, the financial support from government is crucial to ensure flourishing of the arts.

The benefits of the thriving arts for government and nation are obvious. It increases the popularity of the country and propels tourism. The artists from all over the world would be interested to study the arts and to adopt the styles and generating a new one, thus giving new ideas and inspiring the future flourishing of the national arts. However, the government funding must be unconditional, in no ways the government can use the arts as a platform for agitation to proliferate their national ideas. Only this way the integrity of arts can be preserved. Otherwise, the arts will become biased, giving the very narrow perspective on the situation. This can be observed in dictatorial societies, where arts used to praise the achievements of national leader, avoiding inconvenient themes. Thus, only transparent and unconditional support from the government is acceptable to ensure the development and thriving of the arts.

In sum, while I concede that the arts cannot thrive without government's support and funding, I strongly believe, that the integrity of arts must be of ultimate importance. Only this way the society can enjoy a great artworks, allowing to regard quixodian matters from the different perspective and calling attention to urgent social issues.