Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Probably, from the very beginning of human society, the development of arts are vital elements in our lives. Presumably, financial support like funding may be one of important factors driving people to create art works. Some people may argue that it is essential to make art flourish and be accessible to all people through support of government funding. On the other hand, others may contend that completeness of the arts would be threatened by the funding. On balance, government funding is ultimately beneficial to the boom of the arts.

Government funding has a positive influence in investing the arts. First of all,governments has a responsibility in developing national arts well and also has the advantage in financial support over other independent institutions.Besides,from the overall and long term perspective to treat the arts, governments can invest money in different arts,which really makes more sense. Moreover,some art facilities like museums would be accessible to the public.For example,Chinese government has made decision to open all the national museums for free,which in fact promotes the popularization among masses greatly.

Admittedly, some negative side of national funding cannot be avoided,to some extent,as a result of which integrity of the arts would be destroyed.Because of the limitation of financial resources,government has to invest some of them selectively while others have to be overlooked. In addition,as we all know,the arts are the reflection of human’s ideology.If the art work is misunderstood by some opinions or view of policymakers, this kinds of arts will be marginalized with intention,whereas the situation happens in other arts on the contrary,they will be highlight and even be attempted to draw people’s attention.Last but not least,the action by government is likely to cause that independent institutions and individuals are unable to participate efficiently in the management and promotion of art.In other words,the power of society can not be put into full use tothe development of artistic creation.

Nevertheless,I am still inclined to agree with the former view.It is evident to witness that government’s abundant investment in arts is universal all over the world and it has generated beneficial effect. Government in some European countries attach importance to the popularization and development of arts,so artists are encouraged to show their works in gallery,museum or other public occasions and so many tourists are willing to admire their works while taking photos. Even though the destruction on the integrity of art possibly is a existing fact, more evidences are needed to support the opinion.

To summarize,I agree with the view that government funding is a huge benefit for the long term development of art. As long as the appropriate ways are adapted, the investment from nation would result in a good return in the art prospers and the interest of people.