Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

Recently, there is a wide-spread idea that for a high school teacher, it is important to have the ability to identify students who need help and encourage students to learn by themselves. However, from my perspective, the ability to help students planning for their future is more critical.

To begin with, students are more likely to select an appropriate major with teachers’ advice. Some students in high school rarely have an opportunity to deeply learn in different areas. They can hardly understand what they really want to do in the future. So a teacher who is familiar with students’ personalities and also has some knowledge about different areas can give some professional suggestions comprehensively. It reminds me of Linda, an impressive teacher in my high school. She was always happy to provide us one-on-one conversations about both class content and plans in the future. I thought I was interested in architecture, but hardly knew what do architects really do. Once, I talked to Linda, she told me that I was pretty suitable to study computer science, because I was good in math and usually had a clear logic. From her point of view, as computer science is really popular now, there are countless opportunities with a high salary provided in technology companies, while architecture now is a relatively mature industry. Though the architect is also a respectable profession, it is not as profitable as those in the technology industry. Following her advice, I chose a computer science program for my undergraduate study. And now, I earn a hundred dollars each day even as an intern. I am really satisfied with my major and genuinely appreciate Linda’s advice. Therefore, students are able to choose a proper major under teachers’ guidance.

Furthermore, students can set up future goals with teachers’ advice. To be more specific, most high school students will go to universities. How to choose universities suitable for them is not easy. Different universities have various requirements for prospective students. Some universities may require candidates to have GPA higher than 3.3, while others may require a TOEFL iBT score over 100. Moreover, universities have their strengths and disadvantage. Some colleges may be strong in art, and some may have a large computer science department. An experienced teacher is able to provide their advice on universities, which helps students to find universities suitable for them and improves their probability of accepted by universities. For instance, my friend Tim had no idea about which universities to apply to when he was in high school. As the application period approached, he became quite worry about it. Thus, he asked his teacher for help. With years of experience, his teacher soon provided a list of programs based on his interest and academic performance and explained every program to him in detail. With these dream schools, Tim was encouraged and work even harder. Finally, he was really happy to be accepted by University of California, Berkeley. Hence, teachers’ suggestions help students to set up their goals.

In conclusion, I think the ability to provide suggestions to students about planning for their future is important for a teacher of high school students, because it can help students choose majors and set goals better.