Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

If there is one single profession that should be attributed with deciding the future of humanity to largest extent, it is teaching. Teachers are the light to curious minds in following correct path. The given prompt talks about the dilemma in the required qualities of a teacher. While some people might believe that a teacher should be rigorous and demanding, I think most essential qualities of a teacher is to be understanding and having a sense of empathy towards students.

For a classroom of students with varying learning abilities, a teacher with empathy, would understand what individual student lack and help them to succeed. For example, In a mathematics classroom, were a teacher teaching multiplication, post her first class, might end up with students having a different level of computational abilities. Some students might be able to multiply single digit numbers easily but struggle with double digit numbers. A teacher who understands the students exact problems will be able to help them by careful explanation of double digit multiplication again.

however, if the teacher is more demanding, he might end up beating the student for not doing the calculation correctly and demand to do it again. This lacerating of student is futile. If a student doesn't understand something, simply demanding him to perform well will not bring up epiphany in him. Hence having a sense of empathy for students, is most essential for teachers to understand student issues and help them.

Moreover, students come to class class to pursue what he wants to learn rather than what teacher can demand from him. Based on individual capacities people might aspire to learn at different extents or may be their purpose of learning is not same. A teacher with a common demand to whole class will certainly become a hindrance to student's requirements. consider an engineering college were most of the students want to learn in a way that is more industry inclined, so they want to learn their subjects by doing more projects. It's possible that teacher is more academia oriented and she encourages students to publish more research papers rather than doing projects. This would not go hand in hand with the students desires. Hence it's important that teachers understand what students want to pursue and adopt a teaching mechanism that helps students rather than demanding what interests them.

Some people might argue that, if teacher is not rigorously demanding students might ignore studies. But if only demand could help students to learn, why would we need teachers altogether? Even parents, friends and society around us could demand student to learn a lot of things without understanding the students problem in learning them. So to summarize, the most important qualities for a teacher is to be understanding and having a sense of empathy towards students.