Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Political leaders have a responsibility to the population which entrusts them to make the right decision.The leaders of a country are required to make effective decisions in various compromising and pressure situations that affects everyone in the least harmful way possible. Now, some would argue that politicians who abandon their principles for a compromise are effective, as they generally heed to the public opinion. While others may argue that the political leaders of the former type are generally weak and the ones who remain firm on their principles and don’t eschew from their duties are the ones who make better decisions. I agree with the stance that leaders who don’t abscond from their morality and principles are the ones to be revered but on the other hand I can’t fully shy away from the fact that sometimes politicians need to compromise their principles to arrive on a solution. An effective leader is one that is a blend of both. The henceforth mentioned points and examples will shed more light on the claim.

Firstly, the claim that to arrive on a solution, a compromise is necessary is true in some regard. Heeding to the public’s opinion is what needs to be done when the situations are so dire that the country would land in a deleterious situation if a compromise not made. For example, the ugly spat between the Colombian government and the drug kingpin Pablo Escobar. The notorious drug lord was ill-famous for his mass murders from children to president of the country, and bombings across the whole country.He resisted arrest and would further harm the country and it’s population. Eventually the government succumbed to the demands of the public and he was left alone. Such examples show how an effective leader works when it comes to making decisions that are necessary to ensure peace and harmony throughout the country. He/She needs to compromise their principles in such situations.

Now, talking about the ones who don’t compromise on principles even in the toughest of situations.Such politicians are generally considered strong minded and the nation can depend on them to make the right choice in case of any adversity. For example, fight against terrorism.A politician who accedes to the demands of terrorists is generally considered weak.Public knows that there is no reform possible for terrorists and the leader who concedes to the demands of terrorists places the whole nation in danger. However, the leader, maintaining his integrity by following principles should not be oblivious to the effects of his practice of ardent following of rules and regulations.An effective leader is one who while maintaining his principles, tries to maintain law and order throughout the nation and ensure that there are no ill effects resulting from his decisions. Such leaders evaluate public opinion as well before making decisions .

In conclusion, the traits of an effective leader constitute both the facts mentioned by the claim. However, close scrutiny of the surrounding situations and hidden views by a leader is necessary for effective ruling and leadership.