Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Some people believe that in order to be effective or achieve greater heights, political leaders must consider public's opinion and not always follow the principles for the sake of compromise.This statement can be bolster by the age old saying "democracy is of the people, by the people and for the people". So, public should be considered as the highest priority. On the other hand, some people believe that no matter what, political leader should always remain consistently committed to principles and objectives. To some extent, i agree with the later point that there should be some consistency and protocols which leader should follow.

Adding to the previous point, It is very important for a leader to have a specific set of rules in order to succeed. The basic duty of leader is to be impartial towards all the citizen and to achieve that a pre-set of rules is required. Let's assume if they are changing their decisions based on public opinion which will be good for one particular community but there will be others who will be affected by this new change and now they want their opinion to be heard as well. For example, if there are some rules which were implemented considering one religion or one community, it is not going to go well with other religions or community.

Secondly, People generally seeks for their benefit and if Leader have to always consider there opinion then it is not going to work. They got this leadership role because of their ability to take the control of the reign and if it is always publics opinion then what is the need of a leader. People can just have a poll and decide themselves.

Though, i would not totally discard the first view where people wants leaders to consider the public's opinion and then take a decision as sometimes, officials are not aware about the actual issues faced by the public and therefore it is important to consider their opinion and thoughts.There will be some extraordinary minds in public who can propose and exceptional idea which will benefit the country and it's people.

To conclude, if we have to think pragmaticaly we should consider the second point which states that there should be constant policies and principles. However, we need to try to reach to a stage where we can have some liberalization in policies as it is important to consider public's opinion to develop the nation and it's people.