Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The writer places the view about political leaders expressing the two viewpoints. The presented viewpoints are often situation dependent. Effectiveness is the something that the people to whom they lead are happy and their lifestyle is effective and easy.

First of all, the public opinion are the important factors that any political leader should listen time and often to know better about his deeds as leader. The principle in which any of the leader walks on, sometimes, he or she should avoid for maintaining peaceful environment. For instance, the leader has principle of performing his administrative duties only in his desk (in office), but when a physically disabled person arrives for any of his administrative task to be done, the leader should be feasible to go to him and help him the task completed. This gesture from leader brings happiness to one whose task was done as well as to the people who gets to know about it.

On the other hand, the leader should be able to consistently commit to pre-defined objectives and principles to bring effectiveness. In this situation, the leader must be able to work by the book. For example, the current Mayor of Kathmandu Metropolitan, Balen Shah, works by book. He is involved in creating easy flow of peoples walking in the footpath by removing the unauthorized shops that used to be on footpath; he successfully removed the shops that were found in the basement of the building which are meant for parking . By working as per particular policies, he can be able to present Kathmandu as managed city.

There is merits of being committed to particular principles as this helps to remain unbiased and impartial. For instance, if the leader is biased to some person or groups of person, he/she fails to perform any activities against them. Thus, it hinders the leaders from being effective. Hence, the leader should remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Both of the view points are dependent on the situation. The leader must avoid the principle and go with public opinion if the opinion/s is/are valid for bringing effectiveness in almost all the people to whom he leads. However, the leader should follow particular principles and objectives to create planned and managed system which leads to effectiveness.