Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

When talking about leadership, there are always two diverting opinions: someone claims that the government leader should succumb to the public’s opinion, while others argue that the government leader needs to insist his own principles and objections. In my perspective, however, the government leader should always consult public opinions when formulating important policies. Nevertheless, it is not reasonable to carry people’s will unquestioningly because people are often divided and poorly informed when facing important issues.

Before going to detail discussion, we need to give a definition of the word effective leaders. An effective government leader means the leader can make decisions that benefit most people at the same time make fewer mistakes when making decisions.

Firstly, I believe that the government leader should consult the public frequently and systematically before making important decisions. For one thing that the effective leaders’ job is to develop relevant policies in order to meet the needs of people. And people know what the need and what they want better than anyone else. Listening to the public will help the government leader make a fitting decision to improve a certain situation. For another, listening to public will on the proposed policy will further legitimize the policy and make it easy for the government to later enforce the policy.

On the other hand, it is unrealistic to expect the government leader to follow people’s will blindly because people are often divided and ill-informed over important social issues, especially when it comes to science and technology. For example, despite the advance of genetic engineering over the past decades, some people still share the fare of genetically modified food. Some people suggest to prohibit the genetically modified food to the market, others are willing to buy genetically modified food since it is cheaper than original foods. In this scenario, whether the government leader wants to prohibit genetically modified food is according to the leader’s personal judgment, for the leaders can get numerous results from different national labs, where people cannot easily get access to.

In conclusion, while the government leader should always take into account public opinions when making decisions, they should not carry out people’s will unquestioningly because the public is often divided and ill-informed over different issues. An effective leader should balance the two diverting factors and make the decision to benefit the public.