Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Governing according principles or public opinion has always been a controversial issue. While some people believe the government should act according the people's ideas, others reckon principles are more important than public's ideas. I will explain both ideas now.

Advocates of acting according public's opinion believes this method is more likely to be fair. Due to the fact that the government is the average of public opinion thus government should act according people's ideas. In their idea, the government should address people idea's for any decision. For example, to investing in a project or political decision the government should consider about public ideas and then make decision.

On the other hand, advocates of principles claim that all of the people are not expert in any fields that are necessary for governing the country so they may not good reference for making decision. Furthermore, the govenment is elected according to voting in democratic society so people decided about the main policy of the government and parlimant also is another way to reflect people's idea and asking public for any decicion may not approporiate idea. In addition, in some occasions the best decision for the country may not approve by the public but the government should act according to principles, which examined by scientific methods, if he want to assure the future of the country and citizens.

However, considering a mild opinion might be more reasonable than the aforementioned procedures. Some maintain that in most of the times acting according to the principles are reasonable and would gain convincing result but in some exception the idea of public should be considered even if it is against principles. They believe this process help people to be aware of their mistakes and help them to improve their beliefs. For example in the Britain, people decided to seperate from the Euorpe committe, while this decision may be against the princple and may cause some detrimental effect on economy of Britain, the government accepted this idea and it definetly help them to be aware of consequences of their decisions if there is any.

In conclusion, although actiong according princple have several advantages in comparison with public's opinion, a mild method that act according the principles and sometimes consider public's ideas could have more merits.