The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year’s election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in

the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of

young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their

mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of

young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a

regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social

media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about

current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who

vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in

Lamont because more of Chiswick’s young adults actively participate in social media."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of report has alleged that there is a direct relation between the percentage of checking social media and the percentage of voted people in an area. The argument provide some evidence and reasons for its reasoning which look cogent at the firat galnce, bt when we delve deepre into its reasoning, we could find several assumptions and holes. If all of which could be challenges could falls apart the argument. Thus, I could not accept the argument as it is for three reason and the writer should provide more persuasive information to make the argument more defencable.

First of all, the author compares the percentages of people who are checking social media from their mobile divices but he did not consider the number of people that may check social media from laptops or pc. As he said Chiswick is affluent town, it is possible that they have more modern mobile devices that have ability to check social media. But the other city, Lamont, may their people have not modern divices and some of them have to check their social media from their pc. If this is the case, the author should provide additional inforamtion about other people who use pc or other devices for checking social media.

Moreover, even if we accept the statement about checking social media, again we could not accept the argument because he just considered young adults and ignore other part of the society. Different cities have different age range that may involve in the election with different rate and consequently may affect on the thotal percentage of voting. If this is the case, author should consdier other age range in hs study and they also may use different media for awaring of current political and social news. In order to justify the argument, the author should clearly study different age ranges and different ways that may use to gain news.

Finally, the author faulty assumes that all people use social media for getting political news and soical event while it could not be fallacious. For instance people may use it for connceting with their friends and making date or like that. The author did not conside about othe rpossible usages of social media. In order to make the argument more persuasive, the author should conduct a survey on scientific conditions that could consider all of the possible events and eliminate the outier possiblities. Then, readers would accept the argument more easily.

To sum up, although the conclusion of the argument may correct, the author could not provide adequate inforamtion to persuade the readers. In order to justify the argume