Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Morality and logic are often seen to be at odds with each other. Hardliners fail to realize the connection between the two, and that morals more often than not arise from what is considered logical at the particular time and place. Education should be based on logical reasoning and analysis, which itself can lead to a moral society.

Most moralistic teachings tend to be easier derivable from logic, so the foundation should be on the former, which is a more fundamental concept. Morals should be imbibed by presenting them as a natural consequence of analytical reasoning, rather than as steadfast rules. For example, a child is less likely to develop a tendency to lie if he/she is taught what the results of such an action could be, instead of blandly putting it as a good habit.

Furthermore, societies follow a different set of morals. The definition of what is moral and what isn't, depends on the specific circumstances in which the culture evolved into its present state. Also, morality greatly in the temporal sense. A few centuries ago, for instance, women were expected to remain at home and perform domestic chores, and this was considered perfectly in line with the morals. Today, the same is taken as a blatant violation of human rights, and each citizen, regardless of gender, is free to work as they wish. Consistency with changing times can be ensured by focusing on logic as the basis of teachings.

On the other hand, extreme pragmatism can cause humans to treat themselves as supreme. For example, animals have long been subjected to experimentation in fields such as medicine, despite the contentious morals of this act. A moralistic education could have done more to establish sympathy for other species, and for nature in general. Harming other organisms may seem logical if it produces benefits as far reaching as modern medicine has done. An education that widens our moral compass to include all beings instead of just humans could have prevented phenomena such as global warming and extinction that are currently menacing our planet.

In summary, a logical foundation serves better to establish a concrete basis on which education should be set. But adding morality can cover up some of the weaknesses that relying entirely on reasoning brings with it.