Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one s ability to relate and connect to other people Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that comm

Humans have always travelled across territories, acquiring new land and establishing new colonies. Personally, I feel, whether travelling and interacting with more people (quality) helps improve one's ability to connect to others, or whether staying fixed in a place and studying and building upon one's relationships (quality) with the community is the way to go about the task, depends wholly upon the extent and kind of connections with people one wishes to form. In particular, the ability to relate and connect with other people depends upon the people one might want to relate and connect with-- whether they would happen to be restricted to (or around) certain specific communities, or if the person's job requires them to travel and form relationships with people across the world.

Consider those anthropologists who need to study tribal behaviour. Knowledge about the culture of certain reclusive, xenophobic tribes in the Andamans or in the Amazons is virtually non-existent. Relating and connecting to them would be the ideal way to understand them better, and for this purpose, an anthropologist would need to integrate himself/herself into their society, perhaps over the course of years or decades. Only then would he/she finally manage to be able to grasp a hold of their exotic languages, traditions, and culture. Going about the task via any other means may in fact not be possible at all; being xenophobic, the tribes might simply shoot down inquisitive visitors they are not familiar with.

On the other hand, let's get back to the situation of the globalised/modernised world. Imagine a public relations officer working for a multinational company, say Amazon. To optimise sales strategies for places across the globe, it would be optimal if they, at various points of time in their lives, had lived in a variety of places and countries, and gotten to know the culture their. People in India happen to prefer to pay by cash, after a product has been delivered, while those in Western countries are glad to pay by card before receiving the product. To understand such differences in preferences across cultures, living amongst various peoples would be of great assistance.

Similarly, with politicians, diplomats, and traders having to interact with their counterparts from across the globe, it helps if they happen to have been avid travellers. Observing a variety of cultures would help inculate in them a respect for the diversity our planet carries. If they are able to interact with each other without prejudice and biases, it would assist efficient advancement of the world economy and society and avert communal crises and wars.

Well-travelled people, as a result of their experiences, would also better be able to understand the common thread that binds us as a species, abstracting out irrelevant differences which result in racism and prejudice. They could creatively combine solutions to social problems from all over the world. Laws could be made more progressive and accomodating. At the same time, we also need a certain subset of workers to understand each individual society intricately. Studies carried out in such detail could yield us hints about our own past, as is the case when tribal societies are studied. In essence, both, getting an overview of the world, and a detailed view of each society, are essential for the development of our race as a whole.