Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one s ability to relate and connect to other people Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that comm

Traveling abroad can be an integral part of the lifestyle of many people. Tourists can move away from their homes temporarily to seek enjoyment and cause a variation in activities. Itineration can not only act as a remarkable stress reliever but also encourages a salubrious change of environment. For instance, it can provide the traveler with an opportunity to communicate with the locals of new places. Socializing with natives of an unfamiliar tourist spot can prove to be a great chance to enhance one’s knowledge about esoteric cultures. The more one travels, the more likely it is to encounter personalities that differ in ideology and mindsets. Exposure to these new conditions results in modulating one’s milieu that can ostensibly help foster a significant understanding of a specific community, whose thoughts can even be amusingly contrasting.

For instance, in Japan, the tradition of wearing kimono is followed with profound fervor during auspicious ceremonies. Such occasions are usually connected with either a religious or social cause, which is not necessarily followed in an itinerant’s home country. Initially, one can face difficulty in getting acculturated, however, with time, doubts will fade away that will make way for an increase in an overall understanding of the people. The variety of food offered undergoes a remarkable change with geographical location. In fact, the cuisine of a country defines its culture. Some foods can be commonplace, that are supposed to be eaten regularly. On the other hand, a few delicacies are reserved to be served on only special occasions, for events that are of special importance to the area under consideration. Sharing time with locals by eating with them allows a traveler to open up, broach new topics for discussion and connect better with the hosts since in this case food becomes a supporting entity in promoting mutual understanding. In addition, assisting a native with cooking a meal or participating in popular activities can offer many chances to kickstart new conversations.

Countries that use a language other than that of the traveler can initially sound like a deterrent to communication with the natives of the host country. It might impede the process of getting accustomed to their tradition. However, as one spends time at that place, he first gets familiar with the implicit norms which guide the deportment of the society. After a while, he will unravel patterns of the language and can eventually start relating and connecting with ease. He might find similar, characteristics of his native language and that of the host country. It not only helps travelers to break barriers to mutual exchange of ideas but also helps the natives of the host country to know about the foreigners’ beliefs and mien.

Staying provincial can allow individuals to save time spent during transit but can prove to be ineffective in the long run. It can be the case that a region is not known to be frequented by many foreigners. In this scenario, it is imperative that people move, rather than stay in their homes and go cursorily through endless and seemingly edifying resources on the internet. For example, in Asian countries, it is difficult to get to know people who are residents of North or South American countries. On the other hand, countries such as the USA, boast superior cultural diversity, and hence, one can easily find himself immediately talking to people who hail from multiple parts of the world. For instance, in American universities, scholars come to gather knowledge from a variety of backgrounds and share their experiences. This can make the natives relate to and connect with them without the need to travel to another country. However, the students are not the whole representation of a country’s culture and practices. Thus, it cannot act as a substitute for travel.

In conclusion, although many people will argue that an understanding of people with varied tastes and cultures can be achieved by staying in one place, it will not be as efficient as the process of gathering experience by connecting face-to-face with natives of an unfamiliar place. As a matter of fact, staying in one place will provide only superficial information about the working of an apparently arcane society. Moreover, in isolation, an individual cannot connect or relate with other people unless he or she actually participates in communication. Many advocate the use of using video conferencing, voice calling, and messaging to mitigate this situation but these amenities are not a luxury than can be afforded by a vast majority of people who live in third-world countries. Public who believes that traveling for purposes of understanding cultures is a waste of money actually need to think twice before coming to a conclusion. Candidates willing to serve the community as educated scholars who merely rely on the process of isolated learning without practically applying the concepts and getting out of their comfort zone ostensibly do so at their own peril.