Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare the

University education is critical for students to explore the goal and expand their professional skills. There is much debate on whether the universities require the students to take various courses other than the student's field of study. I agree with the statement that students should take various courses other than their major because such courses allow students to deal with classmates who have distinguished majors, and to explore the fields that interest them. My reasons are as follows.

First of all, students can learn to cooperate with those who have distinguished majors. The ability of communication and cooperation could be cultivated through such co-works. For example, in Taiwan, there are many universities that encourage students to co-work with people who have different majors. Those students exchange their ideas about an issue, analyze the issue from different perspectives, and propose a brand new thought about the issue. Those students are able to think outside of the box, and learn how to communicate with those who have extremely different thoughts. As a result, if a university requires students to take different courses, they can learn how to cooperate with others.

Secondly, students might explore the true call when they attend courses other than their majors. Many teenagers choose the field to study because they are asked by their parents instead of making the decisions on their own. Under such scenario, those students could not perform well in their majors and they might choose to quit. If the universities provide the opportunity for students to participate in different courses, the students who had chosen the wrong major would start to think which field is the most appropriate for them, and modify the goal in the college. Hence, these courses are potential chances for students to find the true call.

On the other hand, some people would argue that students must concentrate on the courses that are related to their major and beneficial to their future jobs, because there is too much to learn in such field. Under this condition, the university should assure the students who are compelled to attend the courses are willing to take the job in the related area; otherwise, these students might devote themselves to other kinds of jobs that are unrelated to the field.

To sum up, I firmly believe that students should attend a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Because these courses offer opportunities for students to cooperate with people who have totally different backgrounds, and these courses could provide students with potential choices of the majors they are truly interested in.