Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

The passage claims that sports and movie stars are obligated to behave as role models in return for the millions of dollars they are paid, I mostly disagree with this notion.

Firstly, the sports and movie stars are paid such a high amount because they have created that value for themselves by working rigorously throughout their respective careers. This value has led to the attraction of millions of people as audience when they are playing, in case of sports and millions of viewers, in case of movies. These stars are ordinary citizens just like us and should have the autonomy in how they wish to behave in society. There should not be any pressure on them regarding the same.

Secondly, many of these sports and movies have a major contribution to the economy of the country, they create employment and many other businesses are dependant on them as well. For instance, there are approximately 250 people involved in the creation of a single movie, meaning that their earning depends on the role they play in such movies. This in a way proves that the contribution these famous personalities are making is at par to what they are being paid and they are not obligated to anything.

Thirdly, many sports persons represent the nation in various global events like the olympics, the world cup in case of soccer and cricket and much more. In this way, they are creating recognition for their country worldwide. Similarly, movies win awards at events which are held worldwide, bringing recognition and respect for their country. The sport and movies stars play a major role in making these possible.

Alternatively, these stars should be treated in the same way as any other citizen, they should not have the misconception that whatever they do will be let gone. Justice should be equal for all and they should know that though they have an eminent position in the society, that does not give them the power to take the law in hand. Generally, the youth looks up to these stars and wishes to have a life like them, and in that case they do play a role in shaping a minor part of the youth and are the role models for them, thus they are expected to behave in a certain way.

Sports stars and movie stars are looked up to and respected by many people in the society and they should act as their role models, but this has no connection with the amount they ae paid. The millions of dollars which are paid are for their talent and they deserve it.