Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Consider the first stage of education, nursery school in which children ground their bases for further studies or brilliant careers without even knowing it. One might be inclined to think that alphabet or the first list of integers are memorized by heart, but our brain consists of different memories; and phonetic that is taught, before the mere letters one by one, is a first form of understanding the alphabet's concept. This period of the life highlights the necessity for students to be taught, all the relevant ideas, trends and concepts explaining a fact, simultaneously, nay before memorizing it.

Some research conducted have tested the human's ability to rapidly regurgitate a fact after having been interrupted following its learning. If the disruption, be it visual or auditive, lasts more than a few seconds, our mind tends to reject the fact or knowledge received. This phenomenon applies to a myriad of scenarios, and emphasizes our proclivity to better swallow a fact when we understand it. To illustrate this example, one would hardly remember an economic or philosophical theory ludicrously learned for a unique test, and one would even less be able to explain it. Therefore, if the purpose of a course is magistral, or purely temporal, professors are required to provide students with a big picture, which permits them to contextualize the knowledge, both literally and figuratively. Otherwise, the very essence of pedagogues' role would be questioned, especially with the advent of the internet.

Conversely, some students get already confused with the daily tide of information imparted upon them. Science fields like mathematics or chemistry are hassle for a great number of pupils. Then, would it really worth adding up the story behind a rule of divisibility to the course ? Such a complement might confound the majority and would lead the brain to be completely reluctant to receive further information related to it. The complexity of certain subjects, or their concatenated hurdles sometimes suffice for students to focus on it. Another instance is medicine, one of the hardest university path to take. Along this curriculum, students are indeed needed to memorize mountains of knowledge to the extent of not knowing why.

It is however essential to throw the light on the main aim of knowledge, and what are the benefits flowing from it in the long-run. Learning, in understanding, or at least, in partly seizing the core of the idea and trend imparted, allows students to pave the way for an extended application in advanced tests as well as in the real life. There might be no use for understanding the periodic table for a pupil keen on literature, but it comes under professors' duty to maximize the potential of a class, and teaching shouldn't be deprived of characteristics' and context' explanations, peculiar to a fact. Indeed, the students who are best able to explain knowledge are the most successful. In the professional area, fledglings distinguish themselves by extrapolating what they had learned over university into practical tasks, mirroring an overall understanding. Additionally, connexions can be made between different topics, similar underlying struggles or concepts ensue, both the genesis of incipient theories and stellar academicians.

At a wide-scale, say for a whole country, studying the ideas and concepts of a fact act as a bulwark against citizens being moulded out into robots. Facts, like arguments, can be used against its own essence, and most often the way these are diverted rely on professors' interpretation. They are the best knowledgeable to understand the hidden vices of a policy, the reasons of an international agreement, and they must instilled it to their students. Plethora of instances embody this arguing, and facts taken out of their context are most often misconstrued, mislead the laity, and can be deleterious as evidenced by autocratic governments. Facts should thus be taught contingently upon the age of students, but only after addressing all germane information bound to it, especially in complex or contentious contexts.