Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As the human civilization develops, people’s knowledge is always on the trend of fast growing. From the classic Newton Law to the Einstein’s theory of relativity, it is clear that those facts and knowledge are getting more and more complicated. To help students better understood those facts, some argue that before teaching those facts, teachers should make students understand the basic ideas and concepts as the explanations to them. I mostly disagree with such idea in the following two perspectives.

First of all, there is no denying that education is a process from the easiest and most basic stuffs to the harder ones. In elementary school, when students are taught maths, the four basic arithmetic operations are being told first, instead of derivatives or integration. Similar to architecture, the most important step in learning is how to lay a good foundation. And with such foundation, the new concepts and harder theories can be better comprehend. Thus, only with a solid basic skill, for example, calculus in maths, pronunciation in language and fundamental laws in physics, can a learner make further progress in corresponding fields.

That’s being said, sometimes facts are easier to understand than their explanations. The process of learning is usually a bottom-up process, but there is never a clear definition of the extent of such ‘bottom’. For instance, it is accepted that one plus one equals two, but such fact is actually hard to prove in a plain tone. To prove the fact need knowledge from the theory of number which is too abstract for the elementary school student to understand. It is those most simple and general facts that need complicated explanation and extra knowledge. That is to say, explaining too basic facts is another direction to the extreme, which brings out a key problem that what kind of facts can be used without explanation and proof as prerequisite.

Moreover, as the education level is getting higher, the requirement for the ideas, trends and concepts is not a must. For those students whose interest is application, computer science major for instance, the proof and basic mechanism are sometimes neglected, since they primarily need those facts to be useful in solving problem or optimizing pipelines. In this case, efficiency becomes the top priority. And for those students who are working on the cutting edge of science, facts are more of something to verify than something to learn. Neither of the two cases holds a strong need for the explanation of the facts.

The priority of the fact and explanations behind it, is a dynamic problem, which alters according to the education level and students’ age. For elementary education, prerequisite ideas are highly recommended. But the definition of what does not need explanation should be clear. While for higher education level, those explanation should not be obligatory.