Studying foodways-what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume them-is

the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

Food defines one of the core extensions to a community’s culture – being as diverse and disparate in composition – yet it has the ability to establish quite a naïve understanding of one’s heritage. However, to say that food extends a deep understanding of a community’s culture could have multiple connotations to it; firstly and foremost, how do we actually define culture? Do we confine it for intrinsic judgement depending upon the innate food history of a place or do we expand it to continuum of topography, history, saturnine, literature and folklore? From the point of view of an avid observer, food do play a rudimentary but pivotal role in defining a country’s cultural heritage.

Extending to the established stance, if we take into account the example of Malaysia which constitutes of three local majorities – Chinese, Malays, South Indians – it would be an arduous task to compare and contrast between the food habits given that Chinese go with mostly seafood which blend of brim and pepper while South Indians love the richness that comes with cumin, coriander and turmeric powder. While there do exist the cross cultural food eating habits in Malaysia, all three majorities have diverse cultural habits starting from national holiday – Chinese New Year for Chinese and Diwali for South Indians to Eid for Malays – to the attire. To be dependent upon food – lets say Malay food would be very hard to establish a deep understanding of the Malaysian culture as whole.

Climate plays an important factor in influencing the culture – which includes food as well. For examples, within the United States of America, different cultures resides at different locations starting from people’s eating habits, their means of acquiring food, means of earning to spending the rest of the day. New Orleans, for example is more about tropical weather and salsa and Cajun fish while New York is more about hipsters, New York Pizza and winters. The cultures in both of the regions are drastically different so it would be very hard to judge the culture of whole of the America by just depending upon their eating habits.

Contrary to the point established in the preceding paragraph, There are many places where the food is same all over however the rest of the culture is different e.g. India and Pakistan. The culture of any community in India is mostly depends upon the religion or the caste or the location that particular community belong to. The South Indian and North Indian food is more or less the same, perhaps a difference which could as well be negligible, however from language to clothes, from music to literature everything drastically stretches and do not halt at a common point. Similarly, in Pakistan where everyone is fond of hot spices with curry and chicken (just like India), the cultural heritage differs from province to province – where Punjab culture is well aquainted with Punjab from India (they share the same border) the culture of Balochistn is greatly influenced by Afghan heritage.

In conclusion, though food does perform a great deal of job in defining a culture of a particular community, it cannot be extended to a nation or a city as whole. There are numerous dynamic factors involved in perpetuating the deep understanding of the culture as whole. Moreover, none of the factors mentioned above – history, topography or literature – can function individually to provide a deep understanding of a community’s culture unless and until they are studied unanimously that they would be able to coin the deeper understanding of a culture.