The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general wellbeing of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There exist diverse perspectives to assess the extent of achievement of a nation, or how the nation is great, in other words: economic growth, artistic success, the general welfare of the citizens, and so on. Some people may assert that the most direct indication would be the general well-being of all citizens; I disagree nevertheless with the given claim, since the achievements of rulers and artists are veritable strong indicators over the general welfare.

First of all, the success of a ruler is a very prominent factor that puts the nation at a level of esteem. To illustrate, take Angela Merkel, the former chancellor of Germany, as a compelling example. When she took over the position in the early 2000s, Germany used to be defamed as “the sick man of Europe”, showing an unstable economy with a high unemployment rate. Chancellor Merkel solved the entangled economic problem through her diplomacy and economic reformation endeavors. She redefined the diplomatic relationships between Russia, constructing stable and cheap supply lines of petroleum and natural gas, while establishing a new friendship with China, creating the biggest trade partner. Now, no one doubts that Germany is the greatest nation in the European Union, in terms of economy, politics, and diplomacy; this assertion is even bestowed by the fact that Germany aided the EU nations during its economic crisis, which could be realized by the success of Merkel.

Furthermore, the accomplishment of artists is another critical factor that determines the extent of the reputation of a nation. Jun-Ho Bong, a film director from South Korea, serves as a prominent example: he had produced a series of successful films, around the globe, which is epitomized by the syndrome of “Parasites” in 2019. His film won trophies from numerous respected organizations including Festival de Cannes and Academy Awards. His film was not only valued by the extent of artistic completeness but also by the fact that it was the first non-English film to win trophies in the whole history of the Academy Awards. In virtue of his acquisition in his field, Korea is now regarded as one of the most impactful nations in the film industry, and the number of people who are learning Korean significantly increased in recent years. This recent example demonstrates how the achievement of artists is important to make a nation great.

Finally, even though it must be admitted that the level of general wellbeing of the people is very important, it cannot be a reliable indicator which tells whether a certain nation is prestigious or not. Republic of Turkiye, of simply Turkey, would be an unfortunate but perfect example. Its president, Recep Erdogan, came out with a myriad of pork-barrel pledges in his last election: he promised free natural gas for family use, profound financial aid for healthcare, an increase in salaries of public workers of nearly 50 percent, and so on. At first glance, it does look like a strong financial welfare system for the people. However, it is true that almost no one would say, that Turkey is a great nation because of its strong wellbeing policy. In fact, the policy would show the opposite effects by indeed degenerating its economic status. This is a conspicuous epitome that corroborates that the level of general welfare is never a valuable barometer of the extent of the greatness of a country,

In summary, despite the importance of the general wellbeing of people, the most veritable measures of the eminence of a nation are the achievements of its social leaders, especially rulers and artists. Based on this scrutiny covering prominent examples of modern global society, a country would have to make significant endeavors for such accomplishments to acquire such a degree of esteem. (621 words)