The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

A nation is not just a geographical region, but also all the citizens that reside in it and their culture and emotions. While one can measure the economy of a country using indices like gross domestic product (GDP) or per capita income, inferring its greatness is a task that involves both objective and subjective metrics that has to take into account happiness and the spirit of the people living in it. While the general welfare of a country can be used as an indicator for this purpose, I do not agree that this alone is sufficient for a nation to be called great. At the same time, I can only partially agree with using the achievements of a country's rulers, artists or scientist to measure its greatness. The followings points attempt to justify my views.

Firstly, a country might have a high welfare index as reflected by its GDP or cost of living, but this does not guarantee that a nation be called great. Take for example the nation of Bhutan. While being a small country, the nation has always been prosperous and it is one of the only countries to measure the same using happiness as a metric. However even after stating this, it is safe to say that Bhutan lacks the same amount of fame that a country like Switzerland enjoys and hence is not necessarily considered great. A country needs to have its set of eminent personalities who can disseminate its greatness through their work and laurels.

While we appreciate that achievements can be a factor, there are counter examples where existence of such personalities has little effect on a country's greatness. Considering India, the first image that pops up in the mind of a person who hasn't visited India is that of its slums and villages. While, one can acknowledge the contribution of the country in a wide range of fields such as arts and technology, the nation is yet not considered great. One reason for this could be that the country ranks low in most of the welfare indices.

To conclude, I think neither the achievements nor the general welfare are the surest indicators of a great nation.