The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What makes a nation great? The author contends that when evaluating the success of a nation, the general welfare of its people is the only important factor, which I disagree. Although the welfare of its people is an essential goal of all nations, letting it be the only goal would be misguided.

A democratic government should serve the people who voted it in, and ensuring the general welfare of its people is the most rudimentary objective that a government should achieve. It forms the basis of a stable and conflict-free society, where each person leads a free and productive life. If the welfare of its people is not prioritised, detrimental consequences arise for a nation. For example, the post-war China invested enormous amount of money in nuclear weapons, while millions of people suffer from famine. The mortality rate sky-rocketed, life became unbearable, and people had to make difficult choices like abandoning their children. Although it achieved huge success in nuclear science, China was not regarded by anyone as a great nation then.

The welfare of its people, however, cannot serve as the only indicator of a great nation. No one is an island in today's world, and no country should remain insular to the rest of the world either. A great country is one that takes on international duty in contributing to the general welfare of the world. For example, the presidential candidate of the U.S. Donald Trump claims to make America great again by taking a hard stance against immigrants. Potentially this policy does benefit the welfare of local white Americans, but the discrimination against people of colour is unacceptable. Although the white Americans will have more jobs available and presumably less security concern, Trump's policies are contradictory to basic values a great country should hold, such as equality.

Sometimes a country can be respectable without the best welfare for its people. A country suffering war can also show great strength, and a developing nation that undergoes huge economical transformation can also show great potential, though the welfare of their citizen may not yet be completely untainted. Great artist also often emerge in the most turbulent time, leaving great treasures for the nation. For example, during the WWII, Switzerland protected its people's welfare and the safety of the country by collaborating with the Nazi government. Whereas countries such as Poland fought bravely against the Nazi, and produced great literature records and artwork that still inspire us to this date. Its struggle in the war becomes its greatness.

Therefore, the greatness of a nation is determined by many factors together.