Teacher's salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

The author contends that teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. This is a controversial issue which I strongly do not agree with this idea because of, but not limited to, some main reasons as follows.

First of all, the payment mechanism based on the corresponding success of students might enhance the effort of teachers but we cannot measure how much students understand. All of students do not study in a same institute and cannot compare together. In other words, there is not a standard academic performance test.

Furthermore, the teacher is not the only one who should be responsible for student's learning and it depends on a large number of people especially the students. A teacher only can help the students and give the explanation about how to prepare for the examinations and get good grades because the students have to pass the exams, not teachers. So teachers try to employ efficient and innovative learning techniques to have the high efficiency.

On the other hand, this method compels some teachers might cheat and give higher grades to gain an additional amount of income. In this situation it becomes more and more difficult to evaluate the true progress in the educational results or they force to some students who are not good at learning.

In conclusion, based on all the reasons provided, it is not easy to accept the statement which determines the teachers' salaries just by the scale of the students' grades even if it has correct effects on some issues because knowledge cannot be measure. Also there can be other ways to increase the focus of teachers on their jobs other than this method.