Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A teacher’s primary goal is to ensure that the students imbibe and excel in whatever they are being taught. In return, the teacher gets two rewards-one being seeing the students shine and becoming adroit individuals later on in life and the other being their payment from the institution. Both the rewards play a crucial role, although, each is given varying degrees of importance by different teachers. The ramifications of fixing a teacher’s salary based on the academic performance of the students will indeed be unjust.

We are all well aware of the fact that in every class there are a group of dissidents and rebels who usually do not pay heed to what the teacher is teaching however knowledgeable and kind the teacher may be. Such students end up getting bad grades and are usually not bothered by it. In such a situation it would be untenable to blame the teacher for not giving his or her best while disseminating the knowledge. If such notorious handful of children start deciding whether a teacher is worthy of getting his or her share of income then most of the teachers would be in ruins. Indeed, this would be the worst way to determine the knowledge and skill that a teacher possesses. Hence, any educational institution should never decide to remunerate its teachers based on how well students perform keeping in mind the contumacious lot.

Not only do we find recalcitrant students in a class, but also students who are mentally deficit or due to language barriers are not able to comprehend the teachings. Here, the teachers cannot be blamed for their poor performance. It is the responsibility of their parents to provide them with them with the resources or get them help according to their needs so that they can compete with their peers. The performance of such students cannot ascertain that a teacher teaches poorly or is incompetent. If for instance, a Spanish girl takes a biology class in a university in the United States and has trouble in understanding what the instructor is trying to say due to her lack of proficiency in English, then the authorities cannot reduce the pay of the teacher simply because the girl performed badly. This would be outright untenable. Therefore, when it comes to students who have deficiencies in certain areas of knowledge or those who have mental ailments, their performance in class cannot become the sole factor in deciding the income of a teacher.

However, if such a policy were to be adopted in an educational institutional then it would surely have some benefits. It would be an effective way to keep the teacher in check and would make sure that a teacher puts his or her heart and soul to ensure that the students understand the subject. This would also make sure that the teacher pays attention to all the students in the class and is willing to give more time to students to those who are weak since such students could sabotage his or her income if they do not perform well.

Nevertheless, enactment of such a policy in an institution would truly lead to unfair payment of the teachers especially when the teachers are excellent in their delivery of the educational content as well as in their knowledge about the subject but simply because of a few students they are not able to be rewarded for their hard work as much as they deserve. Clearly, we do not want to have a dearth of teachers if their efforts are not appreciated and their financial rewards are incommensurate with their travailing.