The idea of basing a teacher's salary on how their students perform on the surface seems like an idea that would encourage better teaching and reward those who consistently prepare their students the best. However, this proposition is one that could easily be exploited by teachers who now have a financial insentive to prepare their students for the test instead of preparing them to succeed in future classes. Additionally, teachers who are employed in areas where students typically perform poorly would be at a geographic disadvantage. Overall while a very tempting idea, basing teacher's salaries on their students' academic performance would not increase the quality of teaching for all students.

By instituting this policy, teachers would theoretically be paid according to their ability to teach their students; however with their livelihoods at stake, some teachers would resort to nefarious methods to ensure their students test highly. These methods could include teachers solely preparing their students for the material that will appear on the examination or possibly helping the students cheat during the test. Additionally, this policy could result in teachers trying to influence which students would be selected for their class. By selecting the best students, teachers would ensure a higher paycheck without having to improve their teaching abilities. Critics would argue this policy would also force the teachers who refuse to cheat the system to improve their teaching ability and thus it would improve the overall quality of education. However, the simplest method to improve the quality of teachers is to simply pay them overall more because that would draw more talented people to become teachers who previously would not be comfortable with the lower salary.

In addition to the possibility for teachers to abuse this policy if enacted, teachers of consistently underpreforming institutions would be unfairly biased against. These schools typically contain students trying to deal with school, family issues, and money problems which are not present to the same extent in more effluent areas. Additionally, these schools might also contain a high proportion of students who either do not speak the native language or speak it poorly as a second language. Due to the harsh circumstances, these students unsurprisingly on average perform below their peers. Thus, punishing the teachers for poorly performing students is not fair to the teachers, and that action would possibly result in good teachers transfering to better areas. With only the average and poor teachers remaining, the student performance would continue to decline and would serve as a negative feedback loop resulting in terrible teachers and poorly educated students. Thus the policy would not be very effective at improving teacher quality at those schools.

While the policy attempts to improve teacher quality, it fails to provide a method to improve quality for all students.