Technological advancements have made communication more efficient, but they have also led to a decrease in the quality of interpersonal relationships.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has surely revolutionized communication, and connectivity in the last two decades.Up until late 20th century, people relied on letters or at best, occasional phone calls but today people are constantly updated about their friend's lives through social media and having a video chat with a friend seems like a quotidian task.

For instance, during the 2019-22 global crisis of COVID outbreak, an unforeseen circumstance where everyone was confined to their homes, quarantined away from their regular life, technology is what kept the connections and relationships alive. If this crisis would have hit 2 decades back or earlier, the mere idea of possessing the knowledge if one's family and friends are safe on the click of a button would have been prepostrous ultimately leading to lack of interpersonal relationships.

Since I have cited the example of catastrophic COVID outbreak, it is pertinent to mention that it had a detrimental impact on people's mental health. Since everyone was confined within the limits of their home's periphery, social evils like domestic violence also prevailed. In such testing times, we saw a rise in online mental health helplines and support groups which helped people stay calm and also empathize with others and share their own stories which only bolstered interpersonal relationships and bonding.

Although I agree that technology has turned the world of communication by 60 degrees, it also comes with certain social evils: Social media addiction induced depression in youngers for instance. I come from a generation who did not grow up with phones, laptops but had accessibility to them once they grew up but for a kid who constantly has the accessibility to all these since their first beath, might face a challenge while building interpersonal relationships. Technology addiction has impeded children's interest in outdoor activities, etc.

Therefore, technology is a boon but it should be used sagaciously. I suggest there should be a dedicated technology detox time in the day and social media detox time each month. This would encourage people to get the best of both worlds and use technology to one's advantage than one's downfall.