The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses

It is a widely debated topic as to what should be the stereotypical parameter be set that might categorize art as great or nominal. On the verge of passing time many famous artist have discerned on this topic as it may qualify them as weather they are truly great or just optimized by the grazing audience to be great. As there is no factual basis on which we can classify hence my position regarding the issue is not extreme but it tends more to agreement.

The most prominent reason can be given by questioning as to what is the use of art? It can be answered as art acts as a medium of transporting or inhibiting inspiration in the audience, but if the audience it is intended towards have no clue as to what it depicts then art is of no use and useless object can not be designated as great. According to my opinion art is only great if is able to influence something which can only be achieved if it understandable. One example in support of my opinion is "Abstract art" one of the most developing art of the time. It can be good but it can't be denoted great as just some splashing of paint and oil depicts nothing and have no influence or inspiration on the audience, it is just a method of decorating the wall supporting it.

One more reason which stands in my support is that if an art doesn't inspire you then it should characterize something else that is to say it should picturesque something of the most which if not recorded may fade away from the very thought of common man for example paintings of gods or singing in respect of gods as it depicts a lifestyle in which most of the population is indulged. Hence, art at least if not inspiring should be depict something which also is only possible if it has the tendency to be able to be understood by masses.

Many more reasons can be framed in support of my argument or position but there is also a counterexample that is "The Mona Lisa" painted by renaissance painter Leonardo-da-Vinci. If asked about the depiction or inspiration of the painting no one has any clue except the most intellectual beings of the society as they are capable of framing there own reasons. But it is not understood by the masses still may be the most famous painting of the time.

Hence, as said by men of thought that every statement has different set of opinions so same is the case with this statement it can supported or dis-agreed according to one's own thinking but I have cleared my own opinions and have validated them with reasons and citing examples.