A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

In 30 minutes, compose an essay on the quotation above. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the views expressed in the quotation. In doing so, be sure to explain the reasoning behind your taking this position. Consider to what degree the statement may or may not be true; take this into account in your discussion. You may not write on any other topic.

At first sight, the exploration of liberal arts at the university level of education for students might seem the right way to go. Every university tries to generate a population of students who could be the next "Shakespeare" or a personality of the same rank. Liberal arts do give an oppurtunity to explore the facets of the human mind which generally isn't traversed easily. It might also seem felicitous for students to have an open thought process while understanding the nuances of the topics of liberal arts. Today's building stress levels, and the hesitance of people to speak about it can be brought out through the expression of liberal arts. However, all these points can act as a counter argument against the favor of the statement itself if we dive deep in the analysis of the concept.

As my previous paragraph mentions about the deteriotating stress levels of current times, we need to note down why is it so? Students who are not interested in the university subjects are exhorted to pursue them nevertheless leading to decreasing efficacy of their work levels. This is a dominating incense to the stress levels among students. Along with this, the contemporary times have a tremendous ask for machine learning, artificial intelligence, reasearch based on development of cancer abatement. Aforementioned topics inherently have pragmatic and rewarding consequences if students are involved in them. If university students, post graduating, do not find their motivation to pursue liberal arts related job oppurtunites, they would not dedicate their skill sets completely to the course in itself let alone the development of society.

Since my last paragraph mentions about the current scenario of the job market, it becomes necessary to point out that universities do try keep a gamut of courses while educating the proteges. Focusing only upon liberal arts related course structure is too restrictive for students. Universities such as the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay provides courses that offer students the opportunity to whet their management skills. If liberal arts does provide a much wider domain of handy skills that the students can implement in the career path they chose ahead, it could have been considered a necessity, but does it? Generations of graduates have passed on without liberal arts being a necessity which makes an inveterated statement that skills for excellence is not a compulsion from liberal arts only.

The assertions mentioned in the second and third paragraph might be further strengthened if a popular personality's point of view is consdered. Stephen Hawking suffered from ALS (a life threatening disease) and went on to do wonders in the field of Physics, Astronomy and Cosmology. If he had to focus on his grades of liberal arts in his university, we would have been taking away precious time from this precocious gentleman. Similary, if APPLE's co-founder Steve Jobs had to focus on the assignments of arts which he would probably never use in his technological career, the future generations would not be interconnected as they are now.

In a denouement, I would like to make my stand clear. Liberal arts is a good skill to have but before enforcing this upon students, the university council should contemplate whether it is absolutely necessary or not! 21st century demands are harsh and students would want to see their ideas take shape in the field of health, cybernetworks and communication in front of their eyes. Pupils should have the freedom to chose on the extra skills that they require apart from the ones that are deemed necessary by the human society. Interest, motivation and diligence all go hand-in-hand when education is considered and any tribulation to this tenuos balance can be dangerous.