A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

It is said that university education is something more than the specialized study of a single discipline, and for more knowledge, the broad spectrum of liberal arts, including history and literature should be added to university courses.

On the one hand, I believe that universities by restriction of courses to specialized ones try to limit the progress of students in other fields. Academic courses are essential but other fields such as art, history, and literature are also important and they should be taught alongside science and other specialized courses. Restricted curriculum means that students have fewer areas to explore. Each course has its own merits and it should be respected. For example, with history, students can know about their ancestors and the history of their country. They learn from the experiences of their ancestors and try to build a better society. With literature, students can learn about the poets and their poetries and their literary works. They learn more about their mother tongue, the grammar of their language. In other words, these courses enlighten the minds of students.

It is true when students come to university need to become more specialized in the field of study they have chosen. But their horizon and view about the world should be broadened, and with the liberal art courses, that can be done. In my view, liberal arts should be taught alongside specialized courses, and students should not be limited to only some academic courses related to their field of study.

In conclusion, I believe that with liberal arts such as literature and history students can broaden their view and horizon and these courses should be taught alongside specialized courses.