The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

In the argument mentioned above, it is said that the level of stimulation in individuals is a result of birth order. It is argued that all things in this argument are associated with birth order. With accurate look, we can see that this argument has some weaknesses, and they should be amended.

Firstly, we can see that only 18 monkeys from one species are used in this study. This volume of data is not enough for gaining any results. To strengthen the argument more monkeys from different species should be used. Additionally, other kinds of animals can be used for a better conclusion.

Secondly, it is said that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol compared to their younger siblings. This can have different reasons that one of them is birth order. But there is no evidence that this factor is the main reason for increasing hormone secretion in first-born infants. They may produce more hormone cortisol because of their first exposure to an unfamiliar situation. This can also be correct for first-time mother monkeys that experience pregnancy for the first time.

In conclusion, I believe that this argument needs more research and it should be done on different animals with various species. Different factors can have a contribution to increase hormone secretion. Birth order and first – exposure to a new situation are two influential factors but they are not the only ones.