The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The letter to the editor writes about findings of a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys regarding impact of birth order on levels of stimulation of an individual. The letter mentions that as per the study firstborn baby monkeys show increased activity levels compared to their younger siblings. The letter also regards production of hormone cortisol responsible for response to stimulation. There are certain drawbacks in the claims and information provided in the letter. The major drawback lies in generalization of findings of rhesus monkeys. Addition of some more explanations and evidences could have strengthened the main point of the letter.

Firstly, the author considers the sample of eighteen rhesus monkeys of the study as overall representative to gain insights of effects of birth order on responsiveness to stimulations. But there is no justification on how the author generalizes that the results of eighteen rhesus monkeys as reasonable representative of other animals or humans as a whole. The author should have considered taking samples of other types of monkeys or animals for the study in order to get a better insight. Otherwise he could have proved that the sample he has taken represents overall trend of living organisms.

The author then states that under stimulations firstborn infant monkeys produce twice the amount of hormone cortisol produced by their younger siblings. The writer regards the amounts of cortisol produced are tantamount to the activity levels in monkeys. This argument of the writer needs enough evidence to be considered as a strong one. The letter should have mentioned established results of any prior scientific study in support of his claim that amount of cortisol produced is proportional to activity levels in monkeys or any other animal.

There is a claim made by author, out of nowhere, that first born humans also produce greater levels of stimulation in stimulating environment compared to their siblings. There is no basis for this claim. The author studied behaviors of monkeys and suddenly mentioned about humans. Although there are similarities between humans and monkeys, but we can’t certainly assert that anything true for monkeys will be true for humans. The author should have mentioned any established source or study that supports his claim regarding humans.

Lastly, the letter said to found in the study that first-time mother monkeys showed higher levels of cortisol than mothers of several offspring did. The author did not mention anything about how many first-timer mother monkeys and non-first-timer mother monkeys were taken in account during the studies. This could have made his argument more translucent.

In sum, the letter mentioning the study to find clues on effect of order of birth on levels of individual stimulation has a major drawback of generalization of results found by studying rhesus monkeys to all other animals or humans. It also lacks proper scientific explanation for its claim on amount of cortisol proportional to activity levels during stimulation. Also it made a claim on humans without proper contextualization. With more evidences and scientific back-up, the author could have presented his finding in a stronger way.