“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the article it is stated that, observations concluded by dr. karp which was that, "in the island of tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents" are completly invalid, he has also provided a few evidence points in the article to support his statement. However, before we accept hos statements can be evaluated , three questions must be answered.

First of all, can we conclude that children are reared by only the parents just by asking the children who mostly won't remember what their childhood was like? The author has assumed that the children are talking to their biological parents disproves what dr. field had stated, it is possible that dr. karp's and dr. fields conclusions both together contribute to the research as the people in the island of tertia were belonging from the same blood line which could be why the people of those island reared the children along with the biological parents

Secondly, can the author use the knowledge of one culture to many different cultures such as the culture of the tertia island? The author assumes that people's culture of other islands is similar to the culture of tertia island. it is highly possible that the people of tertia island bond along easily and treat people as their families hence rear the childeren together as a family also the children intereact with their blood parents more because of where they usually eat and sleep.

Thirdly, can the author publish an article and state someone wrong without having concreate evidence? The author himself has stated in the artile that they are yet to get specific evidence to make his evaluations more concreate. The research that the author has performed seems to be incomplete because of which it can create assumptions amoung people about an island and it could also alter the evaluations of other researchers who were working on the same research.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considered flawed due to its reliance on several unwarrented asssumptions. If the author is able to answer the above 3 questions and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendations to publish an article or even an paper regarding it.