Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Being well-rounded is a skill that the system of education in the United States emphasizes, given the curriculum that students undergo for the first eighteen years of their lives. Though being well-rounded is an important trait, it may not be necessary for students to take college-level courses that won't benefit their future careers. Undergraduate students majoring in Business or the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities, particularly because taking fewer classes could lower student debt, help students graduate faster, and students could dedicate more time to extracurricular activities that will benefit their futures, such as research or developing one's own business.

Though there are many factors that have contributed to the student debt crisis, not having to take courses that won't benefit a student's future career could lower the amount of courses a student has to take, thus reducing the amount of student debt that an individual accumulates. Taking fewer courses could also mean that the student graduates faster. Taking fewer courses and graduating faster would reduce the amount of money spent on housing, books, student fees, and tuition.

Additionally, if students were to take courses that only applied their future careers without having to worry about courses they aren't as passionate about, students may have more time to dedicate to extracurricular activities that do benefit their future careers. For example, by reducing or eliminating the number of Humanities courses that Business and Sciences students have to take, students would have more time to engage in research, find internships, or create their own business, which would be highly beneficial in gaining experience. Employers often value experience over the types of courses taken, so seeing what type of real-world experience a student has, instead of the courses listed on their transcripts, could be advantageous for their future careers.

It is possible that by taking Humanities courses, Business and Sciences students could develop useful skills such as writing and critical thinking. They would also have a well-rounded education, which might also inspire or help improve their areas of interest. For example, Business students may find problems within certain Humanities subjects, which may spark a lucrative business idea.

While there are certainly benefits of taking courses outside of one's major, Business or Science majors should not be required to take courses in Humanities, though they are still free to do so on their own volition. The benefits of not having to take courses that don't benefit the student's future career far outweigh having to take courses in order to gain a more well-rounded education. By eliminating the requirement to take Humanities courses, students could lower their student debt and dedicate more time to activities that will benefit their future careers.