Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

In university curriculum, an undergraduate student needs to undertake various courses to obtain undergraduate degree. Some of these courses may seem not to be connected directly with their specialization. A student majoring in the Science or Business study, have to take courses on humanities. As these courses have profound influences in the future career of the students, they should not be considered as redundant.

It is obvious that students majoring in particular fields should gain well developed knowledge from their courses. A science student needs to be erudite on science. Similarly, a business student needs to focus on his particular fields. However, this fact does not necessarily refute the claim that they do not need humanities courses too. These courses on humanities may not directly benefit their future, they have implications in building the understanding of the surroundings. After graduation, the student will be involved in many tasks that require abstract human skills. These courses will build the foundation of those abstract skills. A business graduate will add no benefit to the society if he never get to understand how the society operates and the expectation of the society from him. A science student will not be able to add benefit if he has no knowledge of his surroundings. These understandings of the surroundings can be achievable by learning lessons from respective humanities courses.

However, a different perspective is that this courses are not required for a scince of business student. But, It is merely a vague assumption that the graduate will deal with activities directly connected with his specializatioin. Actually, this is not the true scenerio. As prospective graduates are part of the society. The future graduates will be engaged with tasks that require solving many abstract issues. These issues require understanding of the society, a clear conception of the complex engagement of people in the society. So, to be a successful person in a career, one needs to have understandings of the society, nation and ofcourse of the world. Students can only achieve this fact by completing courses on humanities.

Therefore, humanities courses may seem to excess aparantly but actually they are not. These courses are essential to get the benefit from future graduates.