To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

In the past, the major cities of any civilization or society were the economic, cultural and political centers of that particular society. These cities reflected the true characteristic of the society that they were a part of. However, due to rapid development across the globe, now most of the major cities of the world are almost the same. This is because there has been an intermingling of various societies with people travelling far and wide in search of career opportunities, education opportunities, better lifestyle etc. Any major city of the world would now consist of people who may have varied origins. Therefore, it is now very difficult to understand the most important characteristic of any society by studying its major cities. On the contrary, these characteristic could be better understood by studying the villages and small towns of the society where the traits and characteristic of that society would still be preserved.

For example, let us consider India which is a very diverse country having varied culture, language and customs’. Can a study of Bangalore help in understanding the true characteristic of the Kanad Society? The answer to this question would probably be a “No”. This is because by virtues of being the IT hub of the country, Bangalore is now the home of IT and Computer science graduates, MBA graduates etc. Therefore, a study of Bangalore cannot be relied upon for giving accurate information about the Kanad society.

Consider another example Paris being the fashion capital of the world is now the home of designers, fashion models, garment manufacturers who have their roots in other country. Therefore, a study of Paris cannot be relied upon for giving accurate information about the French society. Moreover, over the years, there would have been inter race marriages leading to a new generation that does not carry the traits of the society of either of their parents. In fact, the case is similar in most of the major cities across the world leading to a generation which is not related to any one society in particular.

On the contrary, small towns and villages situated in Karnataka and France will give an idea of the Kanad and French society respectively as there townships would be consisting of Kanad/French people who have been able to retain their traditions through generations.

In sum, it is definitely true that study of major cities of any society helps in understanding the characteristic of the society. However, this may not necessarily be true in the modern world where the characteristic of the society are limited to its rural areas.