To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

The statement presented referring to the representation of the characteristics of society by it’s major cities is discernable. I am in agreement to the statement in the fact that representative of a population is its sample. In conducting the survey of a population, sample population resembling it is taken and similar is the situation for the study of a society.

Characteristics of inhabitants dwelling in the place, the nature of people, the physical infrastructures of the cities are the factors resembling the cities. Study of the characteristics of the society is equally important to maintain harmony and accede the developmental activities. Necessity for the development and the problems existent is known only after circumspecting the actual societal situation. In order to consider to factors for societal planning, major cities social demography, cultural situation study has to be done for the feasibility of the planned action.

Multicultural cities represent multicultural societies and so is the necessary steps to be taken for the development of society which would be inclusive for all the inhabitants. Cities with higher literacy rate is more likely to need the skilled jobs as an employment opportunity whereas it is otherwise for the cities with illiterate manpower. Most important characteristics like social demography, employment rate, percapita income, cultural status, presence of health facilties and other related infrastructures depicting the societal status is understood by studying the major cities characteristics.

Unlikely, to the fact sometimes this may not be the actual situation. The thinking of the societal characters being wholly represented by major cities could be misconstrued. Minor cities cannot be totally excluded in this situation when it might have capacity to influence the societal major characteristics. Some major cities may not be the representative instead may differ from each other in all the respects being considered. In fact, the sampling of major cities as being representative may be totally wrong. For examples, the study of major cities like Kathmandu, Pokhara, etc in Nepal might forget to understand the existance and unavoidable Chepang communities are also present in Nepalese society though being aloof from the major cities.

Thus, in course of the study of characteristics of a society, the selection of major cities most likely could represent the society in wholesome, but we cannot deny the fact that sometimes it may leave behind the minorities which could be the societal specialities. So, in this course preliminary study would help to guide for the selection of cities whether major or some minors too to exclusively study the characteristics of society.